About the CHA

Commitment To Innovation

Established under state law on December 9, 1935, Cambridge Housing Authority (CHA) provides long-term rental housing and rental assistance to more than 5,500+ low-income families, elders and disabled individuals through its Public Housing and Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) Programs.

CHA invests in Cambridge families and provides enhanced support to almost 10% of the city population. By tailoring its approach to focus on policy innovation and family economic opportunities, CHA is able to meet its mission to develop and manage safe, good quality, affordable housing for low-income individuals and families in a manner which promotes citizenship, community and self-reliance in one of the most expensive housing markets in the country.

Leadership

CHA is governed by its five-member Board of Commissioners. The Board of Commissioners appoints an Executive Director to oversee the daily operation of the housing authority, and ensure that the Board's policies are implemented.

Board Of Commissioners

The five-member CHA Board oversees the Agency's overall direction.  Board members approve all significant contract awards, budget decisions, formal submissions to state and federal funding agencies, planning and reporting documents, all major policy decisions and many other important matters.

Gerald J. Clark
Chairperson
City Manager Appointee

Anthony Pini
Vice-Chairperson
City Manager Appointee

Warren Mcmanus 
Treasurer
City Manager Appointee

Victoria Bergland
Assistant Treasurer
City Manager Appointee

Susan Connelly
Member
Governor Appointee

Executive Staff

Gregory P. Russ
Executive Director
gruss@cambridge-housing.org

Micheal J. Johnston, Esq
Deputy Executive Director
mjohnston@cambridge-housing.org

Susan C. Cohen
General Counsel
scohen@cambridge-housing.org

Terry Dumas
Director of Planning & Development
tdumas@cambridge-housing.org

James Comer
Director of Public Housing Operations
jcomer@cambridge-housing.org

Marcia Franklin
Director of Leased Housing
mfranklin@cambridge-housing.org

John Lindamood
Director of Resident Services
jlindamood@cambridge-housing.org

John Filip
Chief Financial Officer
jfilip@cambridge-housing.org

Earnest Offley
Director of Human Resources
eoffley@cambridge-housing.org

Jay Leslie
Director of Business Systems and Technology Integration
jleslie@cambridge-housing.org

   

CHA has over 160 employees and operates with an annual budget over $70M. For more information about CHA’s different departments, follow the link here.

Moving To Work

CHA is one of 39 housing agencies chosen to participate in the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development’s Moving to Work (MTW) Deregulation Demonstration program. Since 1996, the demonstration program has granted regulatory flexibility to a select group of agencies, allowing them to develop and implement innovative, market-based solutions. CHA has relied on MTW flexibility to preserve and expand affordable housing, adding over 300 units to its portfolio since 2001 and executing an unprecedented $180 million dollars in expansion and renovation work.